Skip to product information
1 of 2

OSF Bear's Sonic Journals: Found in the Ozone Commander Cody and His Lost Planet Airmen 2 CD Set

OSF Bear's Sonic Journals: Found in the Ozone Commander Cody and His Lost Planet Airmen 2 CD Set

Regular price $25.00
Regular price Sale price $25.00
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.


Bear’s Sonic Journals: Found In the Ozone

Commander Cody & His Lost Planet Airmen

2 CD Set

Live at the Family Dog at the Great Highway
San Francisco, California, March 28, 1970

The Owsley Stanley Foundation presents Bear’s Sonic Journals: Found in the Ozone, Commander Cody & His Lost Planet Airmen, live at the Family Dog on March 28, 1970.

“It’s Saturday Night…Goddamnit.” — Billy C. Farlow

A truck drivin’, foot-stompin', hot rod racing romp through this iconic band’s earliest sets!

Rare, early live recordings of Commander Cody & His Lost Planet Airmen, captured by the Grateful Dead’s legendary soundman Owsley “Bear” Stanley, including songs never-before officially released.

Featuring a complete show (March 28, 1970) at the Family Dog, plus bonus tracks from 5 other nights at the Family Dog (February 27-March 29)
Exquisite sound quality
With more than 40 tracks, each CD is more than 75 minutes, and spans a variety of musical styles, including country western, rock’n’roll, blues, rockabilly, zydeco, and more
The most extensive collection of Commander Cody’s work from this time period, featuring rare and seldom played songs
20-page booklet featuring original cover art by Chris Shaw and original, unpublished artwork by Commander Cody himself
11 rare, unpublished photos of the band from the relevant time period
Liner notes by former Grateful Dead archivist Nicholas G. Meriwether
The band consists of Commander Cody (piano, vocals), Billy C. Farlow (vocals, harmonica), Bill Kirchen (guitar, vocals), Andy Stein (fiddle), Steve Davis, aka “The West Virginia Creeper” (pedal steel guitar), Paul “Buffalo” Bruce Barlow (bass), and Lance Dickerson (drums).
Recorded live at the soundboard by the legendary Grateful Dead soundman, Owsley Stanley, a/k/a Bear, who is known for the purity of his “Sonic Journals” recordings
These tapes were transferred and restored to the most exacting audiophile standards, utilizing state-of-the-art Plangent Processes techniques to remove any subtle timing distortions created by the recording and playback devices.
The mastering was done by Jeffrey Norman (Mockingbird Mastering), long-time collaborator with the Grateful Dead and Owsley Stanley.

CD Track List:
Recorded Live at the Family Dog at the Great Highway, San Francisco, California

Disc 1 – March 28, 1970

1. Cajun Fiddle
2. Good Rockin’ Tonight
3. Jambalaya (On the Bayou)
4. My Girl Josephine
5. What’s the Matter Now?
6. Bon Ton Roulet
7. Matchbox
8. Long Black Limousine
9. Only Daddy That’ll Walk the Line
10. Truck Drivin’ Man
11. Back to Tennessee
12. Sleepwalk
13. Midnight Shift
14. Blue Suede Shoes
15. Lost in the Ozone
Bonus Tracks: March 29, 1970
16. Sugar Bee
17. Mama Tried
18. Boppin’ the Blues
19. Hot Rod Lincoln
20. Riot in Cell Block #9
21. Rip It Up

Disc 2: Bonus Tracks — February 27 – March 27, 1970

February 27, 1970
1. Lawdy Miss Clawdy
2. I’m as Free as the Breeze
3. (I’m Gonna) Burn That Woman
4. I’m a Long Gone Daddy
5. Big River
6. I’m Feeling Bad
7. Stranded in the Jungle

February 28, 1970
8. Baby Let’s Play House
9. Looking at the World Through a Windshield

March 1, 1970
10. I’m Coming Home
11. Hello Trouble
12. Wine Do Yer Stuff
13. I Can
14. Long Distance Call
15. Dark Eyes
16. I Ain’t Got Nothing But Time
17. Shout Bamalama

March 27, 1970
18. Flip, Flop, and Fly
19. Seeds & Stems (Again)
20. I Took Three Bennies (And My Semi-Truck Won’t start)

View full details