Skip to product information
1 of 2

OSF Dawn of the New Riders of the Purple Sage 5 CD Box Set

OSF Dawn of the New Riders of the Purple Sage 5 CD Box Set

Regular price $45.00
Regular price Sale price $45.00
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Bear’s Sonic Journals: Dawn of the New Riders of the Purple Sage -

5 CD Box Set
“ sitting around the bar drinking and fighting music — you can drink and fight” — Jerry Garcia
More than 5 hours of unreleased live concert recordings from the earliest days of the band!
This 5-CD set features nearly two-dozen songs never before officially released by the New Riders or the Grateful Dead, including several New Riders’ originals from a largely undocumented period in the band’s evolution.
The performances begin on Jerry Garcia’s 27th birthday at the aptly-named Bear’s Lair in Berkeley and captures performances from 4 different venues on 9 different nights.
The band consists of John “Marmaduke” Dawson (guitar, vocals), Jerry Garcia (pedal steel), David Nelson (electric guitar), Mickey Hart (drums), and Bob Matthews and Dave Torbert on bass.
Highlights also include 9 songs with guest artist “Bobby Ace” Weir and two tracks with Will Scarlett on harmonica.
This is history unvarnished, but it’s pure and spirited and filled with so many moments that will touch the hearts of NRPS/GD fans.
Mastered from the original tapes captured by legendary Grateful Dead soundman, Owsley Stanley, a/k/a Bear, who is known for the purity of his “Sonic Journal” recordings.
These tapes were transferred and restored to the most exacting audiophile standards, utilizing state-of-the-art Plangent Processes techniques to remove subtle timing distortions created by the recording and playback devices.
The mastering was done by Jeffrey Norman (Mockingbird Mastering), long-time collaborator with the Grateful Dead and Owsley Stanley.
The 16-page booklet includes rare and previously unreleased vintage photographs and liner notes based on recent interviews with David Nelson and Bob Weir.
Original cover art by Nina Stanley, Owsley’s daughter, based on a design by Starfinder Stanley, Owsley’s son.
CD Track List:

Chapter 1 – August 1, 1969, Bear’s Lair, Berkeley, California (Set 2)
Disc 1:
1. Six Days On The Road
2. Henry
3. What’s Made Milwaukee Famous
4. I’ve Got A Tiger By The Tail
5. Don’t Take Any Chances
6. Connection
7. Delilah

Bonus Tracks from Set 1
8. A-11
9. Garden of Eden
10. Hello Trouble
11. Last Lonely Eagle
12. Whatcha Gonna Do

Disc 2:
1. Zebra Dun
2. Jerry Explains His Instrument
3. Kaw-Liga
4. Sweet Lovin’ One
5. Fair Chance To Know
6. Long Black Limousine
7. All I Ever Wanted
8. Truck Drivin’ Man
9. The Lady Came From Baltimore
10. Games People Play
11. Introducing the “Murdering Punks”
12. To Have the Hurting End
13. I am Your Man
14. Henry

Chapter 2 – August 28, 1969, The Family Dog at the Great Highway, San Francisco, California
Disc 3:
1. Six Days On The Road
2. I Am Your Man
3. Last Lonely Eagle
4. Whatcha Gonna Do
5. Introducing the Famous Bobby Ace
6. Mama Tried*
7. Cathy’s Clown*
8. Old Old House*
9. Me & My Uncle*
10. Seasons of My Heart*
11. Slewfoot*

Bonus Tracks
12. To Have the Hurting End (August 29, 1969)
13. The Games People Play (August 29, 1969)
14. Superman (August 30, 1969)
15. Saw Mill* (August 30, 1969)

Chapter 3 – October 14, 1969, Mandrake’s, Berkeley, California
Disc 4:
1. Only Daddy That’ll Walk the Line
2. Fair Chance To Know
3. Mama Tried
4. I Still Miss Someone
5. Crossover
6. The Weight

Bonus Tracks
7. Garden of Eden (October 15, 1969)
8. Long Black Veil (October 15, 1969)**
9. Death and Destruction (October 15, 1969)**

Chapter 4 – June 4, 1970, Fillmore West, San Francisco, California
Disc 5:
1. Henry
2. Fair Chance To Know
3. The Race Is On*
4. Mama Tried*
5. Honky Tonk Women*

Bonus Tracks
6. I Don’t Know You (June 5, 1970)
7. Superman (June 5, 1970)
8. If you Hear Me When I’m Leaving (June 5, 1970)
9. Louisiana Lady (June 5, 1970)
10. The Weight (June 5, 1970)
11. Portland Woman (June 7, 1970)

* Bobby “Ace” Weir – Guitar, Vocals
** Will Scarlett – Harmonica

View full details